Category:

 New Zealand Fiction

Reading Level:very good

Collects the stories from The New Land : A Picture Book (1990) and the stories added to South Pacific (1994) and Songs of My Life (1996). In addition there are previously uncollected and unpublished stories, the choose-your-own-adventure novella The Brain of Kat... read more

General Fields
: 9781776560752
: Victoria University Press
: Victoria University Press
Special Fields
: Bill Manhire
: Paperback
: very good
: 318
: F
: books
Nophoto
$30.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 New Zealand Fiction

Reading Level:good-very good

Sheep-shearing galas, Antarctic ponies, human clones, the Queen’s visit to Dunedin, a pounamu decoder, a childhood in the pubs of the South Island, the last days of Robert Louis Stevenson—this is Bill Manhire as backyard inventor, devising stories in which the fabulous and the everyday col... read more

General Fields
: 9780864739254
: Victoria University Press
: Victoria University Press
: ---length:- '8.5'width:- '5.75'units:- Inches
Special Fields
: Bill Manhire
: Hardback
: 823.2
: good-very good
: 320
: F
: books
The Stories of Bill Manhire
$40.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 New Zealand Fiction

Reading Level:very good

The narrative of Alice Roland's long and steady growth towards shared love, a new awareness of life and a sense of personal liberation flows through the pages of the first New Zealand novel to convincingly confront many of the twentieth century's major poli... read more

General Fields
: 9781869413897
: Random House New Zealand
: Vintage
: 0.54
: 198mm X 129mm
: New Zealand
Special Fields
: Jane Mander
: Paperback
: 823.2
: very good
: 348
: Modern fiction
: books
Nophoto
$29.99(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 New Zealand Fiction

She’s six feet tall and handles a motorbike like a professional, but Kate has insecurities that match her height and she ignores her past by pushing her fingers into her ears.
Why did her mother Jane only communicate through poetry? What became of her grandm... read more

General Fields
: 9780473474201
: Cloud Ink Press Limited
Special Fields
: Kirsty Powell
: Paperback
: books
The Strength of Eggshells
$29.99(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 New Zealand Fiction

Reading Level:very good

No one knows 'happy endings' like romance novelist Darrell Kincaid. She's delivered eight of them to her readers with pleasure. But it's not to be with book number nine.... read more

General Fields
: 9781869795825
: Random House New Zealand
: Black Swan Nz
: 0.445
: 235x155mm
: New Zealand
Special Fields
: Catherine Robertson
: Paperback
: 823.3
: very good
: 336
: books
The Sweet Second Life of Darrell Kincaid
$37.99(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 New Zealand Fiction

When secrets demand to be told . . . Two young women, a generation apart, travel to opposite sides of the world on fraught journeys of self-discovery. 1958: Gabrijela yearns to escape the confines of bleak post-war Yugoslavia and her tiny fishing community... read more

General Fields
: 9780473520113
: Polako Press
: Polako Press
Special Fields
: P J McKay
: books
The Telling Time
$34.95(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 New Zealand Fiction

Michael Mahana's personal disclosure to his parents leads to the uncovering of another family secret-about his uncle, Sam, who had fought in the Vietnam War.
Now, armed with his uncle's diary, Michael goes searching for the truth about his uncle, about the secret the Mahana family has kept hidden... read more

General Fields
: 9780143018988
: Penguin Group (NZ)
: Penguin Books (NZ)
: 0.362
: 129x198mm
: New Zealand
Special Fields
: Witi Ihimaera
: Paperback
: English
: 823/.914
: 384
: books
The Uncle's Story
$31.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

The ultimate book-lover's fantasy, featuring a young scholar with the power to bring literary characters into the world, for fans of The Magicians, Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore, and The Invisible Library. For his entire life, Charley Sutherland has con... read more

General Fields
: 9780356513775
: Little, Brown Book Group Limited
: Orbit Books
: 0.3
: ---length:- '19.8'width:- '12.6'units:- Centimeters
Special Fields
: H. G. Parry
: Paperback
: Feb-20
: English
: 823/.92
: 464
: books
The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep
$24.99(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: -10

Category:

 New Zealand Fiction

Series:Popular Penguins
Reading Level:very good

Eight-year-old Kahu craves her great-grandfather's love and attention. But he's focused on his duties as leader of a tribe that claims descent from the legendary 'whale rider'. In every generation since the whale rider, a male has inherited the title of c... read more

General Fields
: 9780143204381
: Penguin Group New Zealand, Limited
: Penguin Books (NZ)
: 178x111mm
Special Fields
: Witi Ihimaera
: Paperback
: 823.2
: very good
: 192
: books
The Whale Rider
$13.99(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 New Zealand Fiction

The birth of a daughter - Kahu - breaks the lineage of a Maori tribe. Rejected by her grandfather, Kahu develops the ability to communicate with whales, echoing those of the ancient Whale Rider after whom she was named. This magical and mythical novel tells of the confli... read more

General Fields
: 9780143011392
: Penguin Group (NZ)
: Raupo Publishing (NZ) Ltd
: 0.185973
: 198mm X 129mm
: New Zealand
Special Fields
: Witi Ihimaera
: Paperback
: 1108
: English
: 823.2
: 1
: Modern fiction
: books
The Whale Rider
$26.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 New Zealand Fiction

Reading Level:Very Good
Awards:Shortlisted for Sir Julius Vogel Award for Best Novel (Adult) 2014.

Wellington. The wind city. New Zealand's home of art and culture, but darker forces, forgotten forces, are starting to reappear. Aotearoa's displaced iwi atua - the patupaiarehe, taniwha, and ponaturi of legend - have decided to make Wellington their home, and while some have... read more

General Fields
: 9780992257866
: Steam Press
: Steam Press
: 198x129mm
: New Zealand
Special Fields
: Summer Wigmore
: Paperback
: Proof
: 823.3
: Very Good
: 323
: books
The Wind City
$15.00(NZD) inc GST
save $15.00(NZD) (50%) $30.00(NZD)
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 New Zealand Fiction

Reading Level:Very Good

A unique blend of a compelling story with insights into writing from a prize-winning author...some of us are not satisfied with that one life, even if it is shared with many friends and relatives. Writers take what we learn of human nature and, fuelled by our longings for... read more

General Fields
: 9781775532590
: Random House
: Vintage
: 0.327
: 235x155mm
: New Zealand
Special Fields
: Stephanie Johnson
: Paperback
: 1st Edition
: Very Good
: 243
: books
The Writing Class
$37.99(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1